Tags

, , , , ,

Today its going to be a simple post. I love cucumber raita more than onion raita. Just because of the onion smell I try avoiding it 🙂 My hubby is a cucumber freak. When ever we go for grocery shopping he always gets 5 to 6 cucumber. Last time when I opened the fridge I could find 8 of them and I started freaking out LOL 😛 . And that day it was mushroom biriyani for lunch 🙂 needless to say cucumber raita was the accompaniment. A very simple and easy recipe.

Cucumber_Raita

Ingredients:

Cucumber : 1 large.

Yogurt/Curd : 1/2 cup (thick)

Water : 1 to 1.5 tablespoons

Salt : 1/2 teaspoon

Red Chili Powder : 1/4 teaspoon

Cumin Powder : 1/4 teaspoon

Sugar : a pinch(optional)

Method:

  • Peel the skin of cucumber and chop to small pieces.
  • Beat yogurt, water together.
  • Add salt, red chili powder, cumin powder to yogurt and mix well.
  • Now mix cucumber as well.
  • Add the pinch of sugar and mix. This increases the taste and it is totally optional.
  • Serve with any biriyani 🙂

My raita I had used 1/2 teaspoon red chili powder, if you want it spicy you can always increase. But if you need it milder reduce to 1/4 teaspoon or even lesser.

