Tags

, , , , ,

Coconut chutney is everyone’s favorite I guess, I am no exception 🙂 Just realized that this easy chutney is not in my blog 😉 This post is for few of my friends, who always asks me for this recipe.

coconut_chutney coconut_chutney_1

Ingredients:

Grated Coconut : 1/4 cup

Roasted Gram/Pottukadalai : 2 tablespoons

Green Chili : 1

Ginger : 1 very small piece (optional)

Salt : as required

Water : as required

Oil : 1/4 teaspoon

Mustard Seeds: 1/4 teaspoon

Urad Dal : 1/4 teaspoon

Red Chili : 1 (optional)

Asafoetida : 1/8 teaspoon

Curry Leaves : Few

Method:

  • Grind coconut, roasted gram, green chili, ginger piece to a fine paste.
  • Add enough water, salt. Mix well.
  • Heat oil in a small pan, add mustard seeds, urad dal, red chili, asafoetida.
  • When it turns golden brown, add curry leaves. When it splutters, mix this with the chutney.

Do not boil chutney, it spoils the taste. Just mix the tadka with the chutney.

Ginger is totally optional, it gives a very nice taste.

Check out some of my other breakfast recipes in this link.