Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have never had any aversion to any vegetable. But I have some favorites, one of them is okra. When I was working in India, I was living in an apartment sharing with 3 more girls. One of the girl was a vegetarian who had too many restrictions with veggies. She used to have only onion, tomato, potatoes and plantain. Seriously nothing else. Β How many dishes can we prepare only with these limited veggies? We really got frustrated 😦 . And she would never let anyone of us buy any other vegetable. Oh my dear god, I had a very ruff time those days. Β When I changed my apartment I got a very sweet girl who lived with me, she was a wonderful roommate and she shared a great taste of veggies like me. And I prayed god that I should never get such a kind of husband who never eats any vegetable. Thanks god, my hubby is more health conscious than me and he eats very healthy veggies and fruits πŸ˜€

Okra is one vegetable which literally cools down your body. I have a very hot kind of body condition. So this is one medicine for me to reduce the hotness in my body. And this is one of the low calorie vegetable, rich in dietary fiber , vitamins and minerals. This is a very simple dish and one of my favorite πŸ™‚

Okra_Stir_Fry

Ingredients:

Okra/Bindi/Vendaikai : 300 gms

Onion : 1/2 large

Cumin seeds : 1/2 teaspoon

Fennel seeds : 1/2 teaspoon

Salt : 1/2 teaspoon

Pepper Powder : 1 tablespoon

Ginger Garlic paste : 1 teaspoon

Lime Juice : 1 teaspoon

Curry Leaves : Few

Oil : 2 teaspoons

Cilantro leaves : to garnish

Method:

Clean Okra, remove theΒ top and bottom portions. Then cut them in to pieces. Chop onion.

Heat oil in a pan. Add cumin seeds, Fennel seeds. Let them crackle. Now throw the curry leaves. They would splatter.

Now throw the onions and add ginger garlic paste. Let it turn translucent. Don’t leave it more than 2 to 3 mins.

Add the okra. Stir continuously until the sticky nature of the okra goes off. When its starts to cook all the stickiness would have gone.

Okra_Stir_Fry_ing

Now add salt and pepper powder. Cook it for 5 to 8 mins. Sprinkle if water is needed. Don’t use more water.

You can check the taste and adjust accordingly. Add the lime juice now.

Finally garnish with chopped cilantro leaves.

 

