Tags

, , , , , ,

Do you have a sore throat, cold or flu? A perfect home made medicine is sukku malli kaapi. This is ideally made with karuppatti( Palm candy) since I did not have stock I have used jaggery.

Spring season is on and pollen allergy as well. First time I am experiencing the pollen allergy. As in India, we never had this allergy. I had a very bad sore throat, my hubby suggested me to prepare this suku malli kaapi( Tamil version of dried ginger, corriander seeds). It helps a lot during the cold, cough, sore throat. After having this yes I had some relief from the sore throat. It doesn’t have any caffeine. Also this helps in digestion.

Sukku_Malli_Kaapi Sukku_Malli_Kaapi_1

Ingredients:

To Grind

Dry Ginger -1/2 inch length or Dry Ginger powder – 1 and a half table spoon

Corriander seeds – 1 1/2 table spoon

Cumin seeds – 1 table spoon

Black Pepper corns – 1 table spoon

To prepare tea:

Water – 200 to 250 ml

Palm jaggery/candy – 1 tablespoon ( I used Palm Jaggery)

Above ground mix – 1 tablespoon

Method:

  • If you are using dry ginger, grind it to a smooth powder. I used the Ginger powder which we get in grocery.
  • Next dry roast the coriander seeds, cumin seeds, black peppercorns for 3 mins.
  • And mix with the ginger powder and grind it to a fine powder mixture.
  • Now your tea powder is ready.
  • Next boil water and add the palm jaggery/sugar. I used palm Jaggery as it is very healthy.
  • Now once it is in the boiling stage, add the tea powder and reduce the heat to Medium – low.
  • Let it boil for 5 to 6 mins.
  • Then have it hot.
  • It really help when you have cold and flu.
